My February Book Haul

At the beginning of the year, I made a deal with myself. I could buy one new book for every five books I finished reading from the stacks I already own. Free eBooks and free audio books didn’t count. I figured this was the only way I could make a dent in my to-be-read pile that had grown to an alarming size.

And then came February.

IMG_20140304_072753Summer Lightning by P. G. Wodehouse

I’ve read a few of his other books on Gutenberg but this is the first Wodehouse I own.

Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami

And my first Murakami.

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon

It has been on my to-read list for a few years now.

The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There by Catherynne M. Valente

I’ve heard so much about this series and the books sound exactly like the kind I’m going to fall in love with. This is the second book in the series. I was considering buying the first as a eBook, but considering the high expectations I have for it, I’m going to look for paperback version instead.

Beatrice & Virgil by Yann Martel

I enjoyed his writing in Life of Pi so I had to pick this up.

Tropic of Capricorn by Henry Miller

I know I’m supposed to read Tropic of Capricorn first, Black Spring next and Tropic of Capricorn last, but the third was the only one I found.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Another book I’ve heard so much about. And even if I hadn’t, I would have bought it based on the title alone.

4 thoughts on “My February Book Haul

  1. Happy to find your blog! While my own writing focus is largely on food, I’ve started offering fiction and nonfiction book giveaways. In crafting reviews, I am happy to learn from folks who have been at this longer than I! 🙂

    Like

    • Fantastic blog! I keep scouring the Internet for simple recipes (that I make only when I’m not feeling too lazy) so your blog is very helpful. And those book giveaways sound delicious too. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

