What happens when you listen to the Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone audio book for the first time*

*Only applies to Harry Potter fanatics

hpYou will be skeptical at first. Books always trump the movies but where do audio books fit in?

All doubts will vanish when you hear the words “Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.”

You will realise you shouldn’t have started listening in public because now you’re grinning like a madwoman before you start repeating well-remembered lines along with the narrator out loud.

You will then move ahead of the narrator and mentally repeat lines that you know are about to be read out.

You could never have imagined enjoying an audio book so much.

You will discover that listening to a book as opposed to reading it frees up your mental space enough to have your brain travel in different directions.

You will wonder whether, if the series was told from Hermione’s point of view, the book would have had multiple references to wanting to strangle Harry and Ron for sheer stupidity.

You will find out you have been pronouncing Knuts wrong. (The K isn’t silent?!)

You decide that you absolutely have to find out who the narrator is because he is so stunningly brilliant and you need to know his name so you can put him on your Favourite People list.

You find out it’s Stephen Fry and emit a squeal of excitement. He’s already on the list.

While listening to the audio, you will discover you now have the problem of having three voices in your head – that of the audio book, that of the movie and that of the original mental voice you usually read the book in.

You will yell out predictions of a character’s future in your head when you first hear about ones that are familiar favourites – “You’re going to marry Harry!”, “You’re going to make me bawl like a baby in the last book!”, “You’re going to grow up to be a badass!”, “You’re going to die.” (The last one will be too often for your liking thanks to Rowling’s mass murderering tendencies).

You will be transported back to the time you were ten years old and were reading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone for the first time. And you will shoot a mental note of thanks to J. K. Rowling, Stephen Fry and the person who first thought of audio books.

You will realise that even after all this time (always!), Harry Potter still manages to give you  goosebumps along your arm and a thrill down your spine.

8 thoughts on “What happens when you listen to the Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone audio book for the first time*

  1. Haha! What a great list! I totally found out I was pronouncing Knuts wrong too!

    And I love how you said, “You will realize you shouldn’t have started listening in public because now you’re grinning like a madwoman before you start repeating well-remembered lines along with the narrator out loud.” This has happened to me more than once. 🙂

    ~Aspen

    Like

    • I shudder to think what will happen once I start listening to the later books where characters are killed off wholesale. Bawl in public but pretend I have a cold perhaps.

      Like

      • Yep…it’s no easier watching them die in the audio version. 😦

        It just goes to show what powerful books they are that they can affect our reactions and appearance. 🙂 It’s so easy to be sucked into the world of Harry Potter. 🙂

        ~Aspen

        Like

    • I never thought I would ever get into audio books to be honest. The only reason I started was because I felt that my time walking daily to and from the train station and taking the bus to and from my house could be better used reading. And since I can’t walk around with my nose buried in a book and reading in buses makes me sick, audio books turned out to be the best way out! I find that my mind wanders a bit too; sometimes I miss sentences and have to replay the audio. For now, I’m sticking to catching up on classics I hadn’t gotten around to and Harry Potter.

      Like

    • Also – I have to add that I still get a little confused when I read ‘HP and the Philosopher’s Stone’ – the US version is ‘Sorcerer’s Stone’, as you know, and so I almost, for a brief, shining, happy moment, thought we were getting another installment. 🙂

      Like

      • Haha, don’t we all have that sort of wishful thinking? I’m excited about the movie based on Fantastic Beasts too (even though I know the announcement received some flak from other fans). Oh and you must try the audio books. For a Harry Potter fangirl such as myself, it really is a treat. Plus, listening to the story leaves a bit of free mind space that reading the books didn’t. So I find myself wondering about all sorts of things in the Potterverse that I didn’t earlier.

        Like

Leave a Reply

