My holiday book haul

Before I left for my vacation, I went on a massive bookshelf cleaning spree. I was startled to discover that I had over 90 unread books – all of them purchased sometime during the last year. Needless to say, I had more than enough reading material for 2014.

And yet.

And yet.

After two weeks away, this is what I returned home with.

IMG_20140108_074838

Not due to a lack of reading material, you understand. I already went with four books. I came back with fourteen.

I visited bookstores wherever and whenever I could. And I genuinely had every intention of going in just to peek (peek, not buy!) because I already have so many books to read so what could I possibly do with more and besides I had to travel around a lot so there was no way I could lug around more than the four books I had already carried.

Long story short, I clearly cannot be trusted in a bookstore, parental supervision or no parental supervision.

And now, drum roll please – the books from top to bottom:

My Family and Other Animals by Gerald Durrell

(This one was on my Goodreads to read list, I promise!)

Horseradish by Lemony Snicket

(As was this one! Besides, who doesn’t love Lemony Snicket’s quotable quotes all conveniently brought together in a single volume?)

The Chronicles of Prydain: The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander

(My boss has the next two books in the series in her office. I can’t  begin reading from Book 2 now, can I?)

The Mystery of the Silk Umbrella by Asha Nehemiah

(I love this author and I hadn’t come across this book in all my bookstore visits in the city.)

Terrible Times: The Eddie Dickens Trilogy by Philip Ardagh

(The first book in the trilogy, A House Called Awful End, is on my list of all-time favourite books. I found the second, Dreadful Acts, at a book sale a few months ago so of course I had to pick up the third.)

Wonder by R. J. Palacio

(I bought this book at the Mumbai airport even before my vacation officially started. My only justification is that I have heard wonderful things about it.)

Beastly Tales from Here & There by Vikram Seth

(Um, I need to read more poetry?)

An Attempt to Assassinate My Inner Bourgeois by Yann Kerninon

(My bookish resolution for 2014 is to read more books that fall far from my comfort zone.)

Insects Are Just Like You and Me Except Some of Them Have Wings by Kuzhali Manickavel

(Am I allowed to judge a book by its title?)

Glimpses of Pondicherry by P. Raja and Rita Nath Keshari

(You can’t stay in a place for five days without wanting to know more about its history and culture.)

The first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem, right?

3 thoughts on “My holiday book haul

  1. Pingback: Bookstore Hopping in Tamil Nadu | Bookworm Etc.

Leave a Reply

