Where I’m Reading: The Bungalow on the Beach, Tranquebar (aka Tharangambadi)

image

When asked how does one get to Tranquebar, people will stare at you blankly. After hurried Googling, you discover that Tranquebar is Tharangambadi. To get to Tharangambadi from Kumbakonam, you have to change buses at Mayiladuthurai. How long does it take to learn the names and then be able to say them? Much too long, and people will still giggle at your pronunciations.

We’re in Tranquebar on a day trip but after seeing the charming hotel, The Bungalow on the Beach, I’m already questioning my judgement of not having booked a room here. We haven’t explored the place yet since our stomachs were rumbling in protest but I love what I’ve seen so far.

What I’m reading: The Age for Love by Paul Bourget

The hotel has a few books left behind by travellers but they’re all in French or German. I tried to struggle through a beautiful edition of The Arabian Nights but I already seem to have forgotten all my French lessons from school.

image

Leave a Reply

