Where I’m Reading: Gangaikondacholapuram, Tamil Nadu

image

I’m a history nerd and ruins junkie so Gangaikondacholapuram made me very happy. Of course, learning to pronounce the name took me half a dozen attempts and even then, by the time I finished saying it, listeners tended to lose interest.

I couldn’t sit and read for too long though. We had an-hour-and-a-half long bus ride back to the hotel to look forward to so I had to put my book away too soon. We still managed to nearly find ourselves stranded and then had to contend with a bus driver on a suicide mission. Never have I been so glad to find myself on solid ground.

What I’m reading: I’m still on If It’s Monday It Must Be Madurai by Srinath Perur and absolutely loving it! My reading is constantly interrupted by fits of laughter. You really should check this book out if you’re a fan of travelogues, essays featuring inherent Indianness or just wildly entertaining/fascinating prose. I was introduced to the book via an excerpt in Open magazine about sex tourism in Uzbekistan. Once I read that, I knew I had to pick up the book (90+ unread books on the shelf notwithstanding) and have been waiting impatiently since October. So far, it’s been well worth the wait.

You can check out the essay here.

2 thoughts on “Where I’m Reading: Gangaikondacholapuram, Tamil Nadu

Leave a Reply

