Rhyme and Reason: October 31, 2013

She blinked her slow, reptilian blink. “What is it you’re afraid of?”

“What else? Death.”

“No. You’re afraid of what you’ll miss, being dead.”

“Yeah, that too.” He looked around, lost. “I’m not even fourteen. I’ve never kissed a girl. Not been to first base, let alone anywhere beyond that. Not one decent kiss, and here I am trying to save the world!”

“Look, I’ll kiss you if it’s so important,” said Parvati, flicking her hair ou of her face. “But then can we get a move on, please?”

“Stop right there,” said Ash. “A charity snog wouldn’t count. Anyway, knowing my luck, you’d bite my tongue and kill me.”

Parvati shrugged and began walking. Ash, after a moment, hurried up and fell into step beside her. She looked at him out of the corner of her eye.

“We could hold hands, if you like,” she said.

“Just just up, Parvati.”

Sarwat Chadda, Ash Mistry and the Savage Fortress

You can read my review of the book here.

Leave a Reply

