Of Cabbages and Kings: January 14, 2013

To make up for the lack of links in previous weeks, I bring you a double (maybe triple?) dose this time round!

gandalf problem solving

Click the picture for a bigger view. Image courtesy here.

As much as I love all these definitions of love (whoops), collected from nearly two hundred years of literary history, my favourite still has to be Charles M. Schulz’s declaration: “All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.”

As I was growing up, making us read the classics wasn’t really high on my school’s priority list. Which explains how I completely missed most of them. It was only a few years ago that I started picking up the more famous ones and it was then that I fell completely in love with Jane Austen’s work. So reading this brilliant profile of Austen was definitely a delight.

In the middle of researching an article on snowboarding in Kashmir, I stumbled upon this well-written travel piece. Reading great travel writing soothes my traveller’s soul and makes it restless with wanderlust all at the same time.

These conspiracy theories about literary characters include some I’ve heard of (Sherlock and Watson are in love) and others that are too outlandish to even be suggested (Hogwarts cannot all be in Harry’s head because I’m still waiting for my owl okay?).

I learned something new this week. Backpfeifengesicht is German for, I kid you not, a face badly in need of a fist. Take a look at some other emotions in other languages that English has no words for. Meanwhile, I need to look for German classes in my city, ja? (Or, you know, Google Translate)

Sometimes I don’t know if I want to know more about a favourite author when it consists of the not-so-good along with the good. It doesn’t diminish from their work, of course, but the image I have of the author does somewhat take a beating. Reading J. K. Rowling’s New Yorker profile didn’t quite make me jump for joy by the time I got to the end.

This NYT article talks about the roaring trade of pirated books that occurs unabashedly out in the open in my city. I remember reading an interview a few years ago where author Jeffrey Archer, whose books are hugely popular in India, described an instance where he was approached as a potential customer for a pirated copy of his own book! The true measure of popularity, eh?

My favourite part of this interview with Daniel Handler (aka Lemony Snicket) and his fellow children’s author wife Lisa Brown?
Interviewer: What is something you always carry with you?
Daniel: Hmm. My spleen?

I missed the live telecast of the Golden Globes this morning but I’m claiming possession of the TV remote tonight to catch the repeat telecast. But this should make up for the general lack of Tina Fey and Amy Poehler during the day. I want to be best friends with both and/or marry them.

And … scene!

Leave a Reply

