Of Cabbages and Kings: December 23, 2012

Over the last two weekends, I developed this alarming habit of becoming sick and sleeping the Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays away, leaving little time for my blog’s weekly fix of links. But this weekend was happily spent being gifted books and watching Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 on HBO. And the links are back! So throw that confetti in the air like you just don’t care.

authorsImage courtesy here.

Do you remember Scrooge? McDuck, not Ebenezer. This essay made me happily relive watching DuckTales on television and devouring all the comics I could lay my hands on that featured the ducks’ entertaining exploits.

Why do I want to decorate my walls with these Calvin & Hobbes posters? Because anyone who dispenses with colourless reality and turns to the rich world inside his head is okay by me.

Mark Twain’s letter from “Santa Claus” to his daughter Susy really makes me want to relive my childhood with stories of the benevolent gift-giver from the North Pole crowding my head.

Now I’m a secondhand book buying fiend. Precisely why I’m so disappointed at never having unearthed any secret contents from any of my purchases.

The world needs many more of these brilliantly witty ads for books.

If I ever had to get a literary quote tattooed on any part of my body, I’d be tempted to opt for Lewis Carroll’s “We’re all mad here.” One of my other favourite Douglas Adams quotes might prove to be too lengthy.

Reading these hilarious British people problems makes me wonder if I’m a Brit kindred spirit. That might explain my everlasting love of the British accent.

Leave a Reply

